Souk Medina

1a Shorts Gardens, Seven Dials, Covent Garden, London, WC2H 9AT +44 2035440186

(3.3)
North African, Halal
Average
Main Course £10
Food Spend £25
Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 11:00 to 24:00.

All food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. Ambience is fab and funky. The only disappointment was that when food was dripped onto the shirt of one of our party no attempt was made to assist with cleaning it off.

Liz Hayes 24 June 2014
From Milton Keynes

View all 18 reviews

More about Souk Medina

A North-African oasis spread over 3 floors, Souk Medina – Covent Garden showcases traditional cuisine, made to time-honoured recipes. A subdued retreat, the dining room offers plush seating littered with cushions, and atmospheric lighting.

Within vibrant Covent Garden, Souk Medina restaurant offers set menus of tasty mezzes bursting with intense flavours, alongside a varied a la carte menu. Promoting bold, earthy aromas, favourites include simmering tagines, from lamb, apricots and roasted almonds, to chicken, spinach and feta.

Souk Medina offers a carefully compiled drinks menu, with a high-quality selection of wines, cocktails and liqueurs. To finish things off, the palate-cleansing desserts offer subtle, aromatic flavours, like chocolate crepes with rose water crème, or sweet pastry with honey and mixed nuts.

Souk Medina London offers an authentic taste of Morocco in an intimate setting. Covent Garden Tube Station is just 3 minutes' walk away.

Customer Reviews for Souk Medina

3.3

(based on 18 reviews)

61% of diners at this restaurant would recommend it to another person.
  • Food:
  • Drinks:
  • Service:
  • Ambience:
  • Value:
  • Location:

Recommended for

  • large parties (11)
  • dinner (10)
  • romantic (10)
  • entertainment (7)
  • business (6)
  • lunch (4)
  • views (4)
  • value (2)
  • child friendly (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • trendy (1)
(1)
25 June 2014 by Lamia Graham from London
We went there for dinner on a Saturday, food was a disappointment, chicken tajine was tasteless, couscous royale was too rich with too much meat on it and everything tasted of cumin, This restaurant has lovely decor and polite service but delivers neither authentic not tasty Moroccan food! Shame!
(4)
24 June 2014 by Liz Hayes from Milton Keynes
All food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. Ambience is fab and funky. The only disappointment was that when food was dripped onto the shirt of one of our party no attempt was made to assist with cleaning it off.
(4)
7 April 2014 by Maria Deen from London
Great service and food. The cocktail was a little disappointing as but other than that happy overall.
(5)
2 January 2014 by Susan Hamilton-martin from Leicester
This is a great place. The food is fab and the staff make you feel really welcome
(4)
27 October 2013 by Vilmante Kekyte from London
We were looking for a cozy restaurant for our date. It worked really well. Delicious food. Great service. Reasonable prices. Also Belly Dancer entertainment included.
(3)
10 September 2012 by Dining from Lincolnshire
Our table was booked for a pretheatre visit. We were seated on a tiny table with barely enough room for two people. Had to request a change of table This spoilt the start of the evening. Main course was on the table as we were swallowing the last mouthful of the starter. Did not find it particularly friendly as we have done at other restaurants. It wasnt very busy so no excuse not providing a good level of service. Food was not very exciting in taste.
(3)
2 September 2012 by Big Jo from London
Food was delicious and service efficient. Belly dancing entertainment was a bit obtrusive and diners invited to join in, some clearly found this uncomfortable and music was incredibly loud.
Dining area was quite dark in keeping with the ambience, but difficult to read menus.
We felt a bit squashed in a corner and were in too close proximity to other diners. Overall, a relaxed atmosphere and food was delectable offering a wide range of dishes.
(3)
24 June 2012 by Medina mummy from Leeds
Table booked for 7.30 but arrived early and were welcomed in. Chose a set meal which for [$] per head was not very imaginative , served luke warm and small portions. There was no courtesy check as I would have informed staff that the meal was luke warm and although quiet the service wasn't particularly attentive. I had brought my family for a Moroccan experience having enjoyed a previous visit with my company but regretfully they made no comment after the meal ( which means they weren't really impressed)
(2)
25 March 2012 by Morroco Lover from Glasgow
We visited Souk Medina on a weekend trip to London. Having visited and loved Morocco recently we were looking for a similarly welcoming, friendly, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. Instead we were greeted by staff who made very little eye contact, rushed us to our seats, and whipped our side plates away before we had finished our meal. We were then obliged to clap along with overly loud music while a belly dancer danced in front of us. While she was very beautiful, this was incongruous with the service and atmosphere. We left unacknowledged with nobody satin goodbye or thanking us for the significant amount of money that we had paid for a lukewarm, very average meal with small portions, and had ice cream back at our hotel. A disappointing experience.
(1)
9 March 2012 by Giulia from london
we went last night to eat there, and booked a table at 10pm; the kitchen is closing at 11pm. we came on time and the starters arrived after 45 minutes. during our main courses, they asked us to pay the bill in order for them to close the till. we finished the main course and waited 25 minutes for a waiter to come and clean the table in order to serve our desserts. in fact, while the staff was really busy cleaning up the restaurant, and putting the chairs on the table(even the tables next to ours)we had to ask for our desserts. they brought 3 desserts instead of 2, and (of course) we had to ask for the third one. we were really upset and we have tried to call the manager in order to ask explanation. we asked a waiter to call her but he said she was really busy and that she could come. after 10 minutes the waiter said that she was going to come.... but nothing... therefore we tried to call her, and we ended up shouting in the restaurant, in order to get attention, but there was nothing to do.....they were really busy drinking and chatting.... we are really upset and we never had such a bad experience, even though we all work as waitresses in London. the food was really good, and the ambience really nice... but the service really poor.. and we will never come back....

Souk Medina

1a Shorts Gardens, Seven Dials, Covent Garden, London, WC2H 9AT

General: +44 2072401796
Reservations: +44 2035440186
Website

Make a booking

See other restaurants in London