Avista Restaurant & Bar

Millennium Hotel London, 39 Grosvenor Square, Mayfair, London, W1K 2HP

(4.4)
Contemporary Italian
Average
Main Course £18
Food Spend £35
Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 12:00 - 14:15 & 18:30 - 22:15
Saturday: 18:30 - 22:15.

Great food and lovely setting with attentive staff

Amy Lawson 5 December 2016
From London

View all 54 reviews

More about Avista Restaurant & Bar

Winner of 3 AA Rosettes, Avista is the acclaimed Italian restaurant of the Millennium Hotel in London. The Avista Bar is a discreet hideaway serving cocktails and aperitifs.

The Avista menu is created by Executive Chef Arturo Granato. From the Amalfi coast, Arturo brings a little touch of Italy to Mayfair with his spectacular dishes which change regularly to take advantage of the freshest seasonal produce.

Arturo has a modern Italian style of cooking and he changes his menus regularly to take advantage of the freshest seasonal produce. He announced his arrival at Avista by introducing a wide range of new dishes which were extremely well received.

Avista Mayfair features rustic exposed brick décor matched with contemporary beige and cream colouring and beautiful fresh flower displays. Perfect for cocktails, gatherings or business meetings alike, Bond Street Tube Station is only 6 minutes’ walk away.

Customer Reviews for Avista Restaurant & Bar

4.4

(based on 54 reviews)

81% of diners at this restaurant would recommend it to another person.
  • Food:
  • Drinks:
  • Service:
  • Ambience:
  • Value:
  • Location:

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (39)
  • luxury (9)
  • value (8)
  • romantic (5)
  • dinner (5)
  • business (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • private dining (3)
  • large parties (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • entertainment (1)
  • views (1)
(4)
23 January 2017 by Audrey Harris from London Borough of Southwark
Beautiful china, seating very comfortable but we were between two music features so they overlapped somewhat and were quite annoying. However the staff were wonderful, very helpful and professional. Tea itself was lovely, quite adequate and fresh. The whole experience was delightful. Would go again.
(5)
5 December 2016 by Amy Lawson from London
Great food and lovely setting with attentive staff
(5)
29 November 2016 by Yuki Terasawa from Maidenhead
Thank you for your good service and good meal.
(4)
18 November 2016 by Thomasina Becci from London
Service very good. Afternoon tea ok but now enough sandwiches.. we asked for more but were informed we would have to pay for them. Scones excellent but the cakes were mostly bland. Cakes mostly custard style I.e. Crime brûlée, shot glass and another served in a plastic container which was tiny. Service charge over the top. What
(5)
15 November 2016 by Carla Vega from London
Had afternoon tea; the tea selection was amazing!! The finger sandwiches had good flavour, the scones were spot on.... really enjoyed it! Would recommend to anyone!
(4)
12 November 2016 by Carolyn Barnard from Mayfair, London
Welcomed on arrival and asked if we had any allergies. . Nice restaurant. Staff pleasant. Food /drink very good to taste and appearance appetising, except for lettuce 'decorating' sandwich plate which looked like it had been taken out of a bag very hurriedly and was a bit limp. Selection of food very good. We were left alone to enjoy our tea and towards the end of the meal we were offered hot water for our tea pots. Strangely these were filled up at the table. We did ask if there were any more sandwiches but would have had to pay an extra £5. Our cake stand was taken away about half an hour before the end of our time slot and just a plate left on the table - this was a bit weird as no one else had their stand removed and it meant our table looked a bit sad. Having booked a £40 tea for two offer, I was surprised when the bill came and there was an extra £10 service charge added. (We did not have much interaction with staff).I asked them to remove this from the bill and they did without a fuss. Overall, we enjoyed our afternoon tea and would try another offer.
(3)
10 November 2016 by Emily Evans from London
The food and tea were both perfectly nice. The Avista Restaurant in my opinion doesn't have as nice an ambience as some of the hotels where I've had afternoon tea. Wherever I have had afternoon tea before, we have always been offered more food at no additional cost; however, when my friend asked if she could have some vegetarian sandwiches as she didn't like the meat option, she was charged extra for these. When these sandwiches arrived, some of them had chicken stuck to the bread which we weren't very impressed about as vegetarian sandwiches should be meat free. When she pointed this out, the sandwiches were replaced; however, she was still charged for them (I think all the restaurants I have eaten at in the past would waive the charge if they had made a mistake like this). Wherever I have had afternoon tea previously, there have always been enough of the different cakes for everyone to have one each; whereas, two of my friends were sharing a plate which only had one type of each cake - we would usually expect there to be two of each. When we pointed this out, some more cakes were brought over. Overall, I did not have a bad experience at the Avista Restaurant; however, I wouldn't recommend it to a friend as in my opinion there are a number of much better places to go for afternoon tea.
(2)
27 October 2016 by Jan Fearon from Sevenoaks
Very disappointing! Draughty, waitress could not understand. Very sweet but language barrier a real problem. Food adequate but embarrassed to treat my friend to such a mediocre tea on her 50th. Attended many venues and by far the worst. A waste ofoney.
(2)
14 October 2016 by Cindy Tong from Malaysia
The restaurant staffs are courteous and considerate in offering us to move to another venue when it was near closing time.

However, unlike other afternoon tea services, the hotel only allowed us to take away 2 items only (scones and a dessert). Since we have not finished and would have loved to take away some of the desserts that were not served in hotelwares, we were rather disappointed.

Furthermore, when we requested for an additional sandwich midway through the experience, we were told that it will be charged (which was not the norm in our previous afternoon tea service elsewhere). Perhaps there was a fine line somewhere?? The variety of the gluten/lactose -free option is not comparable for the price.

Could have been a better experience.
(5)
7 October 2016 by Liz Reid from Burnley
Afternoon tea with family. Food was lovely and just the right amount. Good selection of teas. The restaurant was stylish and our table was round with a semi circle banquette which was great for the 4 of us. Table beautifully laid out. The servere was also excellent. Will definitely come back when in London

Avista Restaurant & Bar

Millennium Hotel London, 39 Grosvenor Square, Mayfair, London, W1K 2HP

General: +44 2075963399
Website

Make a booking

See other restaurants in London