Opiniones sobre The Restaurant at Taplow House Hotel

4.4
(basado en 56 opiniones)
Taplow House Hotel Berry Hill Nr. Maidenhead, Taplow, South East England, SL6 0DA
56 opiniones
Ordenadas por: más recientes
  • Por Karen A desde Taplow
    10 de febrero de 2019

    This was not the best afternoon tea experience... They ran out of hot chocolate and needed prompting to bring our sandwiches and cakes over. We also had to ask for refills of our tea as the staff were not always present or in view. We therefore kindly asked for the discretionary service charge to be removed. Although I wouldn’t visit here again, it was nice a setting to relax and have a good catch up with friends.

  • Por Yvonne Y desde Taplow
    20 de enero de 2019

    Very nice enjoyed afternoon tea. Service was very good a special treat they gave my daughter a slice of cake for her 21 st. Birthday

  • Por Laurie C desde Bourne End
    16 de diciembre de 2018

    We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Por Louisa S desde Maidenhead
    2 de diciembre de 2018

    A very disappointing festive afternoon tea, which seemed to mainly constitute crackers and party hooters on the table (i'm not sure who thought these would be suitable for an afternoon tea setting but needless to say we did not disturb the other guests by using them!). The quality was no where near as expected with only 4 very basic finger sandwiches served; tuna mayo, egg mayo, roast veg and the festive special, some very cheap turkey ham with the slightest amount of cranberry sauce! A more suitable selection for a festive afternoon tea should surely have included some smoked salmon or proper turkey breast with stuffing? For the price of this afternoon tea, the selection and quality was very poor and most children's lunches include better sandwiches. The small scones were nice enough but were served with very sickly blackcurrant jam rather than strawberry (or even a more festive alternative!) and I don't believe any of the other cakes were home made; a small sickly chocolate pastry cup, sugar covered doughnut square, fruit cake and an overpoweringly lemon creamy & sponge concoction served in a shot glass! None of which seemed particularly festive - no mince pie?! At no point were we asked if we wanted anything else or if we wanted any top ups of hot water for our tea. Once we had been served that was basically the extent of the service on offer. The room itself was lacking in ambience to start with but half way through our afternoon tea, other tables in the room were being cleared and all other tables and chairs were moved out of the room! By the end of our sitting, our table of 6 and another table of 2 were the only tables left in the room. This obviously didn't make us feel comfortable or welcome as it felt like we were in the way and they clearly wanted us to leave. This was now only 5pm on a Sunday afternoon. Overall a very poor experience and we will not be returning. Such a shame as this beautiful location deserves so much more from this hotel.

  • Por Peter W desde London
    31 de octubre de 2018

    The food surpassed all expectations in every respect.

  • Por Amanda T desde Wokingham
    27 de octubre de 2018

    A lovely afternoon tea with great food and service

  • Por Haruna T desde Maidenhead
    25 de octubre de 2018

    Lovely atmosphere and very attentive service. Great view of the garden.

  • Por Craig M desde Slough
    22 de agosto de 2018

    Amazing food, lovely relaxed atmosphere, thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Por Steve P desde Northwwod
    13 de agosto de 2018

    One of the best, if not the best restaurant we've had the pleasure to visit. The quality and flavour of the food was excellent combined with the service and timing between courses. All three of us chose a different menu option and each was delivered to the table with this same excellent standard of quality. Although currently this restaurant has attained a one rosette rating in the AA restaurant guide a recent change of chef, we believe, will result in a two rosette rating when the AA re-assess, but hopefully this won't result in an increase of the cost which presently is excellent value for money. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to others, in fact I already have.

  • Por Sheila E desde Taplow
    31 de julio de 2018

    I bought this for a very dear friend of mine for her 60th birthday so she came along with her husband. The photos I saw were lovelyand the food looked delicious. So thank you to all the lovely staff that made her afternoon tea just perfect. We also have some friends coming from America in early September so may well bring them to have afternoon tea.