Reviews of The Fox and Raven

3.4
(gebaseerd op 52 beoordelingen)
Barnes Mill Road, Chelmsford, Essex, CM2 6NL
52 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door David B uit Chelmsford
    16 november 2019

    The service was very good and our table was ready for us . The only problem was with my sirloin steak. Having read the write up I was expecting a tender steak . The result was a difficult steak to cut and almost impossible to eat.. It was a family celebration ,so I did not want to make a fuss and consequently I did not complain, particularly as the rest of the meals and service were great.

  • Door John F uit Chelmsford
    20 mei 2018

    I arrived with my daughter at the Fox and Raven just before 6pm following our online booking, people mainly after drinks were milling around the bar, stressed bar staff and waiters were dodging about seminglngly unable to cope, reception for diners was none existent. Nobody evened to be in charge, so after waiting unattended for more than 10 minutes we managed at last to collar one of the waiters who had ( like the rest ) had previously Ignored our presence. Apologising for the lack of staff we were eventually led to a table and shortly after a different waiter appeared to take our order saying there would be a half hour wait, which was strange because we could see around us that less than half the tables in the restaurant were occupied. We both decided on the 'lamb shanks', having the foreboding by then that anything more complicated than that could result in even more misery, but we couldn't have been more wrong... first the soda water drinks were flat , and then when the lamb shank meal eventually arrived ...the meat was lukewarm and the vegetables were burnt cold and almost inedible. We picked at the food in fear of food poisoning from the innadequately heated lamb shanks , and then decided it best to pay the bill and leave. I can remember in the distant past when the Fox and Raven was a good place to go...but unfortunately not anymore !

  • Door Louise N uit Colchester
    8 april 2018

    Food satisfactory. Slow service. Took a long time for the bill and then was requested to leavers larger party was expected.

  • Door Austen C uit Colchester Essex
    11 maart 2018

    The warming fire and relaxed ambiance.The attentive staff and conveiniance of disabled parking.Scolopes and black pudding,lamb shanks are egsamples of Positives. The Negatives are few but I must speak for my 86 year old mother who can't manage a full adult portion and was disappointed with the Children's menu !.She chose to build her own meal.The Garlic bread arrived as a small,warm Pita cut in three!. She was exspecting a slice of toasted garlic bread!.The Vegitable Sticks,were Raw sliced carrot,pepper and cucumber!.The chicken was a tiny slice of one breast,it was no larger than one slice of bacon with a piece of melted cheese!,this was exspected to be the main of the meal?. Wy not offer the agging population who have the most capital to spend,a menu tailord to their smaller adult apertites,instead of compromising with the children's as the only option?. The only negative I have is the choice of only two real ales,as good as those two are,you often are waiting for the other two to be delived!.

  • Door Stacey T uit Brentwood
    4 februari 2018

    Atmosphere really nice, lovely waitress Julia very helpful. Food was good but as all food didn’t arrive at the same time some of the food was only Luke warm including the gravy. Will come again as sure that is not a regular issue.

  • Door Kim F uit Great Baddow
    27 januari 2018

    Great to drink here, Sunday roast ate good but midweek menu mediocre

  • Door Lucy D uit Chelmsford
    19 november 2017

    I wasn't impressed with the food, could have been better...

  • Door Mary D uit Chelmsford
    12 november 2017

    Good place for meeting friends relax & pleasant atmosphere.

  • Door Liz S uit Chelmsford
    10 oktober 2017

    Great food and lovely old rustic place to eat ! Very cosy!

  • Door Pauline B uit chelmsford
    19 augustus 2017

    excellent welcome by bar staff, window table as requested, Cloe our waitress very pleasant and efficient, food fresh and hot and served with a smile, look forward to visiting again.