Reviews of The Swan - Norfolk

3.3
(gebaseerd op 21 beoordelingen)
10 Lower Street, Horning, East of England, NR12 8AA 
21 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door Penny J uit Norwich
    2 februari 2020

    On walking in we had high expectations. The restaurant is clean and nicely decorated and there was an open fire but the place lacked ambience at 12 noon for Sunday lunch. Food looked amazing but then on tasting it it was all rather mediocre. Staff were pleasant but we were given a side of roast potatoes despite having asked for new potatoes. We had to ask for gravy and borrow a fork from another table as it was missing. We will return for a drink on a sunny day given it's location on the Broads but wouldn't return for another meal.

  • Door Stephen B uit Attleborough
    25 augustus 2018

    Good atmosphere along with excellent food, a very good evening

  • Door Richard K uit Great Yarmouth
    10 juni 2018

    Great food. Lovely location. A little disorganized and short staffed but really friendly and polite.

  • Door Jules M uit South Wootton
    13 augustus 2017

    Despite booking a table for 3 at 1700 on Sunday we arrived at 1630 to be advised that there were no Sunday roasts left. We were given a "Sunday" menu instead and attempted to order from that but then we were advised that items on thus menu we're also no longer available. When I asked exactly what was available the waitress said they would try and rustle up some ham, eggs and chips and that the sausage and mash from the weekday lunch menu would probably be available. Shortly after ordering it transpired that the manager was attempting to put together a substitute Sunday menu but that it was too late for us to change our order. When the food arrived it was appalling - my ham, eggs and chips consisted of two slices of freezing cold ham which had been draped over the chips rendering the chips below the ham and the 2 fried eggs above the ham absolutely stone cold. The sausage and mash which my husband and my friend endured consisted of over cooked sausages, mashed potato which was almost liquid and side orders of vegetables which were rock hard. Meanwhile at the table next to us the "new" menu was delivering scampi and chips, seafood risotto etc. I complained bitterly to the manager and we left our uneaten meals in disgust having only bern asked to.psy for our drinks. Be warned - the actual menu was nothing like the one we were sent after booking online. Never again.

  • Door Jeff A uit Martham
    10 augustus 2017

    Been there a few times but disappointed with the service this time round which for a Thursday night was very poor - our drinks arrived at the table after we had finished our starters...the manager seemed to be having a bad day...

  • Door Derek S uit Welwyn
    26 mei 2017

    Long wait with only two staff on, and although the restaurant was fairly quiet, it was busy outside. Both girls struggling to cope and queues were long. The food was cold and appetising at all. Won't be eating there again as other options nearby.

  • Door Diana B uit Norwich
    20 mei 2017

    It was lovely and as requested we got a table by the window

  • Door Simon S uit Chester
    11 april 2017

    A very good meal, friendly service and excellent value. Well done!

  • Door John G uit Great Yarmouth
    6 januari 2017

    As ever, excellent

  • Door Anthony P uit Essex
    19 november 2016

    We are regular visitors to Horning this time every year, we always eat at The Swan and have found it to be welcoming, friendly and have a great menu. Unfortunately on this occasion we were a little disappointed. I booked our table on line and chose a time that the restaurant could accommodate a party of 8 adults, and a high chair, which was simple and convenient. When we arrived it was clear they had not considered our booking as it came as a surprise to the staff. They quickly responded by saying it was fine our table was ready and promptly escorted us to a table for 6 adults! After some confusion and shuffling of chairs and place settings, we were shoehorned onto a table for 6. This eventually was changed when we asked if they had a bigger table! The result was moving our existing and adjacent tables to make room for our party. We were also disappointed that 3 of our menu choices were not available, which was odd for a 5 o'clock meal on a Saturday night. I chose a meal from the "specials" menu, to be told it was the last one, which became apparent when it arrived. The food quality on this meal was very poor. I mentioned this to the waitress and was told she was very sorry and would pass my comments to the chef. I should say apart from a few minor disappointments with some other meals, the rest of the part were very happy with their meals.