Avis de The Old Cottage

4.1
(basé sur 64 avis)
Cherry Orchard Road Lisvane, Cardiff, CF14 0UE
64 Avis
Trier par : Le plus récent
  • Par Martin O de Lisvane Cardiff
    12 janvier 2020

    We had Sunday lunch two chicken dinners and one nut roast. The vegetables were not done properly which was disappointing they needed a bit more cooking. The staff were good and we explained why we didn’t/couldn’t eat the veg.

  • Par Tim W de Cardiff
    8 décembre 2019

    This is the second time I have been here as of late and sadly the same issues, the staff are wonderfully polite and friendly however when sitting in the ‘snug’ area you tend to get forgotten about and can go quite some time without seeing anyone, we were sat for 20 minutes before our drinks order was taken and that’s only because I had to interrupt the server. The started were delicious and went down very well however the main courses of Sunday roast were very poor, the meats were dry, the roast potatoes were soggy the veg was over cooked and the crackling was as hard as a rock and we had raw leeks. I appreciate our table was booked for around 1400 and the meat was most likely cooked a few hours before but how any chef could be happy to send that poor quality of food is baffling. A complaint was made and we were given a reduction on our bill which was appreciated but sadly this all deflated the birthday celebrations we were there for.

  • Par Juliet S de Cardiff
    9 novembre 2019

    Great food. Kitchens open and spotlessly clean. Tables not too close. Friendly servers. Lovely ambiance.

  • Par Karen B de Cardiff
    19 août 2019

    The service was excellent as was the food. Great choices on the menu, would highly recommend.

  • Par Thomas C de Cardiff
    9 juin 2019

    Sunday lunch was overpriced for what was received. Whilst the food was tasty, the balance of the plate was wrong and we certainly felt disappointed by the food we received. Service was great and the decor was good, but on balance we’d struggle to justify returning for Sunday lunch when there are far better options available locally.

  • Par Darcy T de Cardiff
    21 avril 2019

    Unfortunately we were disappointed with our experience. The vegan onion tart was served as just the tart, no sides and was priced at £12.50 which seemed over priced. The roasts that were served were unfortunately bland with vegetables that came from a bag and was reheated.

  • Par Gwyneth N de Cardiff
    7 mars 2019

    New menu poor. Service not much better.

  • Par katrina maxwell M de cardiff
    3 mars 2019

    We have visited here many times and really enjoyed it, however last Sunday 3/3 we came with my family to celebrate a birthday to find that there were no roasts left and also many choices unavailable. In addition it was not tp the usual standard and would say what we had was so so!. Very disappointing considering the previous visits we have not had any complaints .

  • Par Nigel V de Cardiff
    28 février 2019

    Brilliant service.

  • Par Tina C de Cardiff
    27 février 2019

    I visited because it was a birthday treat, I did not think it was any thing special, we had a five pound voucher to take off the price of the meal as it was my birthday, the waitress said that they could not take it has the number was not the voucher we had to complain and eventually they took the £5.00 off we also had a drinks voucher but did not have the drinks on offer.