Reviews of The Guildford Arms

4.3
(gebaseerd op 211 beoordelingen)
55 Guildford Grove, Greenwich, London, SE10 8JY
211 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door Mary G uit London
    16 februari 2020

    Lovely venue and great food. Attentive staff. Overall great Sunday lunch experience with family. Looking forward to going again.

  • Door Juliet M uit London
    8 februari 2020

    Really really good Food was excellent Staff are amazing

  • Door Anne P uit CANTERBURY
    18 januari 2020

    I had a lovely meal on a weekday night so booked again for early Saturday night but did not have such a good experience this time. The main course (veggie mushroom dish) was lukewarm on a cold plate so the waiter offered to reheat it. I think they were new ingredients as it was more tender and there was more sauce-- it was delicious. My partner and I both had the warm pear and almond tart. We had to send them both back as they were stone cold on cold plates. The menu specified warm pear and almond tart. Again, the tart was delicious when heated. I cannot fault the ambience, the food and the politeness of the waiter but something is going wrong between the cooking and the serving which is a shame. No one likes to complain in a restaurant, especially twice so this puts me off booking again.

  • Door Steve C uit London
    18 januari 2020

    Enjoyed it. Service - ambiance - quality of food excitement - value good. For me the steak was way overpriced - size - in comparison to rest of menu. Plus cheese far too cold. Bit nothing to stop us enjoying the evening overall.

  • Door Brian W uit London
    17 januari 2020

    Finally had the chance to eat here following the refurb of this much loved local bar/diner. Nice touch being able to see the kitchen from the seating area downstairs and most importantly the food was great. I had the Galloway steak and it was cooked to perfection.

  • Door Sean M uit London
    12 januari 2020

    Nice new refurb. We had the Sunday roast which was really tasteless. The gravy looked like dirty water and the food was very bland.

  • Door David E uit London
    11 januari 2020

    Very close to where we live.. local and easy for us.. quick reservation.. in and out within an hour for two courses.. which is exactly what we wanted Loved the refurbishment.. definitely best restaurant in Greenwich and Blackheath Few more vegan options and non alcoholic cocktails would be good But looking forward to return soon

  • Door Shaun G uit London
    22 december 2019

    Disappointing food. Roast beef was so tough it was difficult to slice (especially with the butter knives provided), and the veggie roast was a tasteless mush of beetroot and not much else. The starters were great, and the service was friendly. But the main courses were just a disaster.

  • Door Emily C uit London
    22 december 2019

    Hi. I booked a table for my fiancé’s birthday based on the email you’d sent me about the restaurant reopening and based on the ‘December’ menu I looked at on your website. We turned up last night and were told the chef had decided to continue the Sunday lunch/roast menu! Other than two fish options and a burger, our only options were roasts. I’m sure you can appreciate it’s pretty disappointing to go out for dinner and be offered a roast. Especially as this was a birthday present and our first evening out together since we had a baby in March! Luckily the staff were lovely, as was the food, so the evening was rescued, but I’d definitely advise notifying your customers in advance if the menu isn’t going to be anything even close to what is advertised. Thanks, Emily emilyjanechurch@hotmail.com

  • Door Gill C uit London
    15 december 2019

    Hadn't been to the Guildford since its recent refurbishment - what an improvement! Much lighter, more spacious and very comfortable. Food was, as I've come to expect, delicious and generous, and the staff were lovely, too.