Reviews of Dunston Hall

3.6
(gebaseerd op 157 beoordelingen)
Dunston Hall Hotel, Ipswich, East of England, NR14 8PQ
157 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door David H uit LOWESTOFT
    1 november 2020

    Satisfactory under very trying conditions

  • Door Leanne G uit Chelmsford
    31 oktober 2020

    The service was exceptional very friendly. However both myself and partner had a burger which was ridiculously dry.

  • Door Fiona F uit Watford
    31 oktober 2020

    For a venue of this standard the dining area is more like a noisy canteen & tired looking. Didn’t feel special at all. Calamari starter was literally three mouthfuls. Main courses were very tasty & steak cooked perfectly. Desserts didn’t all look home made. Very expensive for what it was. Saving grace was our waiter Ben who was enthusiastic, helpful and couldn’t have done enough for us!

  • Door Stephen S uit Cambridge
    31 oktober 2020

    Restaurant was very hot. We stayed for two nights and it was the same menu. The evening meal food was hot and well presented. We ordered two different steaks and the waitress was not sure which was which. Breakfast was not so good, staff didn’t seem to pay attention to our requests, i.e. we asked for bowls of melon, we received mixed fruit. We asked for certain pastries and different ones arrived. We ordered full English breakfasts, which were delivered without bacon, mushrooms or tomato. We alerted the waitress who brought us some bacon, we decided not to remind them about the mushrooms and tomato!! In summary, the food was ok, the experience was spoilt by the room temperature.

  • Door Tamara R uit London
    30 oktober 2020

    Enjoyed the food and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Door Steven D uit London
    28 oktober 2020

    Had both breakfast and dinner here. All in all a very underwhelming experience. Restaurant and the hotel itself don't match the outside views. All very dated and looking a bit threadbare. Restaurant food was very average and breakfast was very slow and very limited choice. We were informed they were very busy. If they can't deal with the numbers they shouldn't take the bookings. The hotel is sold as being 4 star, unfortunately, if it was once it isn't now, and is at best 3 star. Only redemption was the staff, who remained very cheerful, if a bit embarrassed at the need to keep apologising.

  • Door Sophie C uit Norwich
    27 oktober 2020

    Evening meal was sublime. The food was fantastic and the attention to detail and service from the staff were brilliant. Would definitely stay again.

  • Door Ellie H uit Suffolk
    27 oktober 2020

    We dined here several times over our stay at Dunston Hall. The first evening we were here we couldn’t complain, our waitress was efficient, friendly and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and the food was lovely. However, unfortunately, this seems to have been a one off. When we arrived for breakfast, we had a twenty minute wait before anyone came to offer us a drink, despite several tables abound us who arrived a lot later placing their orders and having their food before our drinks order had even been taken. The bacon was over done and chewy, the sausages burnt. We stayed for three nights and every morning when we ordered breakfast what we got seemed to vary depending on the day and the server, but the poor quality was consistent. One morning we asked for some extra sugar, this never arrived. Our worst experience was on Monday evening when we had dinner. We had to ask three different servers for a glass of water, which took fourty minutes to arrive. My other half ordered a steak which was inedible. He ordered it to be cooked medium rare, if anything it looked like it hadn’t even been cooked. There were lumps of fat running through the meat, it was chewy and disgusting. It took thirty minutes before a waiter was able to bring a steak knife. When we complained, our waiter offered to take 50% off of the bill, because the restaurant were still happy to uphold the eat out to help out scheme for us. However, after taking to a hotel manager we found out that the restaurant were continuing the eat out to help out scheme which we would have received regardless, and our server had not rectified the situation at all but rather made us look like fools. Overall, the food here was sub-standard and the waiting staff were poor, except for one or two exceptions. The decor within the restaurant is shabby, with several of the dining chairs having large rips in them. We were informed the restaurant and hotel are due a refurbishment.

  • Door Nicola C uit Suffolk
    27 oktober 2020

    We had breakfast in the restaurant which was really very good. Plenty of choice including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and full English. The full English was very tasty and cooked well. Toast was available aswell. The service was very quick and the restaurant was Covid secure with a one way system and very clean.

  • Door Mrs Deepa K P uit Twickenham
    26 oktober 2020

    Food and atmosphere was great. Thoroughly enjoyed the duck salad