Anmeldelser af The Gallivant

4.2
(baseret på 174 anmeldelser)
New Lydd Rd, Camber, Rye, East Sussex, TN31 7RB
174 anmeldelser
Sorteret efter: nyeste
  • Af Jane W fra Hastings
    24. februar 2020

    We had the fixed lunch menu. Lovely fresh produce, complementing the area.The service was appropriate. There, but not overbearing.Everyone smiled and acknowledge you. We were early due to the abandoned walk on the beach,awful weather! This was not a problem. Close to Hastings, so will be visiting again. We are recommending this to friends already

  • Af Matt W fra London
    22. februar 2020

    Had lunch there. Style is laid back luxury, featuring a short but excellent menu of simple, seasonal and mostly locally sourced fare. It's simple, unpretentious food, prepared with real care. I had Dungeness Crab and followed by locally caught charcoal grilled Mackerel and then a chocolate mousse - all the dishes were fantastic. There's plenty of walking nearby - Dungeness is very atmospheric.

  • Af Stephen A fra Rye
    22. februar 2020

    Charming staff, not too intrusive but helpful when necessary. Food very good - who knew cuttlefish could be so delicious and just melted in the mouth. Lamb neck equally tender & flavoursome but personally I think it needs a sweetish accompaniment to compliment the meat rather than that on offer. Excellent desserts. Only downside was a lamb chop ordered by other diner which was tough - but there was a spare!

  • Af Michelle H. H fra Surrey
    20. februar 2020

    The restaurant was recommended by friends. The lunch was super, the broccoli tempura starter followed by wild mushroom pearl barley risotto was delicious and the chocolate tart was just brilliant to finish. My husband chose the salt marsh lamb for his main course and was equally impressed. The staff were friendly and courteous. We will definitely be returning. The dining area is tasteful decorated with a relaxed ambience - I can highly recommend it.

  • Af Rachel G fra Camber
    16. februar 2020

    Hotel is a great find and to have such an excellent restaurant, which also sources local products, is fabulous. We’ll be back to eat and stay!

  • Af Sher M fra Woldingham, Caterham
    16. februar 2020

    Loved that the side dishes were to share and we have a selection. I think you should offer a two course option. I don't eat puddings (although I did have a tiny spoonful of my husbands chocolate tart which was yummy!)

  • Af Jeremy F fra Surrey
    14. februar 2020

    Attentive service. The lamb dishes were well seasoned, as was the veg. We ate 2 consecutive nights, the squash was missing on both and the green veg was kale; agreed well seasoned. How difficult is it to have a different veg each evening and at least what’s on the menu? Would not want to eat a third night.

  • Af Julie T fra Hastings
    12. februar 2020

    I have been to Gallivant many times but this was one of the best.. my friends dog was well received by the team. It was her first visit and she enjoyed both the venue and the fabulous new lunchtime menu choices .. thanks for being awesome again

  • Af David M fra London
    1. februar 2020

    Our third/fourth visit in as many years. Nice new makeover with more greenery and even more welcoming feeling of space. But the restaurant seems to have moved away from the family-feel it used to have - we were there as a couple only but always like to see family tables. The starter/main combinations were beautifully judged. Lots of freshness in the ingredients. Attentive and helpful staff advised us well on food and wines.

  • Af Angie P fra London
    26. januar 2020

    Overall excellent food and service. Heading up service was a Frenchman who had great attention to detail