Opiniones sobre The Restaurant at The Capital

4.5
(basado en 390 opiniones)
22 Basil Street Knightsbridge, London, London, SW3 1AT
390 opiniones
Ordenadas por: más recientes
  • Por Peter S desde London
    4 de noviembre de 2020

    I booked a table for my wife and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We're big fans of Nathan Outlaw's restaurants, having eaten many times at his restaurant in Cornwall, so were very much looking forward to the meal. The table was booked for 4th November, and I'd made the booking on 14th October, which was confirmed by email. When we arrived on 4th November at 7.30pm, we were told that the restaurant was closed for a wedding reception. We assumed there was some mistake, but the restaurant manager confirmed that he'd tried to call me at 6pm ON THAT DAY, just 90mins before we were due to sit down for dinner, to advise me that our booking was cancelled (apparently I didn't answer the 'phone and he didn't think to leave a message). We felt that it was absolutely shocking and unacceptable that the restaurant made so little attempt to cancel or move our booking. The restaurant manager confirmed that the wedding had been organised some weeks before so there was ample time to contact us, yet he could not have been more disinterested; he simply wanted to get us out of the door. Of course 4th November was the last night before lockdown, so it was impossible for us to get into anywhere else for dinner - even our hotel couldn't fit us in. I am not one for posting online complaints, particularly in these difficult times for businesses, but I think our treatment was so poor, and the hotel/restaurant were so disinterested in helping (or even apologising), that I think it's important to post this honest review.

  • Por Fameed K desde London
    4 de noviembre de 2020

    I didn't dine there because when my guest arrived we were told you had closed the restaurant!

  • Por Christopher P desde London
    3 de noviembre de 2020

    Excellent

  • Por Sheila F desde Kent
    24 de enero de 2020

    Had a wonderful lunch at The Capital. Very attentive staff and the food was exquisite, very modern - we started with ceviche scallops served with beautiful clean tasting sauces and micro-herbs. My friend had pork belly for main, which she said was very moist and well cooked. I had the salmon with mushroom sauces, which were light and delicately flavoured - all beautifully presented. Whilst the portions were not very big, there were lots of little additions like amuse bouche and bread, which were certainly enough. We had the Bookatable deal and it was very reasonable, as it included half a bottle of wine each, which we finished off with our cheese at the end of the meal!

  • Por Sarah M desde London
    30 de diciembre de 2019

    Very good selection of dishes. Excellent waiting staff. Bar and cocktail selection excellent. Fois gras and oysters were outstanding dishes. Decor excellent and we would go again

  • Por Sophia L desde London
    27 de diciembre de 2019

    I came here with my family and we had the tasting menu. The menu was different to that shown on the website which was not marked as a “sample menu” so we were disappointed to see the changes. We were assured by the waiter that all the ingredients would be “fresh and beautiful” and were then served white asparagus from a tin. The other dishes were mediocre at best which was disappointing. We had our coats taken to the cloakroom and when they came back, my brother discovered that the £25 in his pocket had gone missing. Daylight robbery followed by more robbery.

  • Por Arroora Y desde London
    25 de diciembre de 2019

    Turkey was undercooked and inedible. Long waiting time for table.

  • Por Valeria L desde London
    20 de diciembre de 2019

    We have been to these restaurant several times for special occasions over the years, and we have always enjoyed the food and the dining experience. Today was however another story. On arrival, we were shown to the bar, and asked 3 times by 3 different people whether we had a reservation, during which time we were asked to enjoy a drink in the bar (for which we were of course charged). We were finally shown to our table 30m after we arrived, and when we received the menu, we were told 'it had changed' - so only 2 options were available, either game-mushroom-celeriac, or take the game out and you have the veggie option. The starter and the main tasted the same - both were covered in mushroom sauce, and the main was the size of a starter (a piece of guinea fowl 6cm long, and 1 wide), served with (I counted) 10 4mm square cubes of a root vegetable. Arrive petite 4 courtesy of the restaurant, and here we have 4 gellies coated in sugars. Now all of this would have been borderline acceptable had we not booked through a website a lunch deal, which included half a bottle of wine. The first bill to come included the wine charge - apparently when we were presented with the wine list and asked to pick (and we chose one of cheapest wines anyway) nobody thought to mention the wine included in our deal was not on the list. We were also charged £55 for a bottle of prosecco, most of which we took home (to the disgust and mockery of the staff, who thought us cheap), where a glass was £9. I will leave you to do the maths. All in all we paid over £170 for 2 dishes that had the same mushroom taste, and Prosecco I can find in Tesco for £10. So, the verdict is, we will not dine at this restaurant again, and if you are in the area, I suggest you avoid it too.

  • Por Gary W desde Maidstone
    14 de diciembre de 2019

    I took my fiancé as a Christmas present and couldn't have been happier. The service was exemplary and the wine suggestions to go with our meals were spot on in every way.

  • Por Tony C desde London
    15 de noviembre de 2019

    Menu was very limited but food was very nice and beautifully presented. Very nice service . Only downfall was there was no atmosphere we were the only ones in the restaurant for the entire evening !