Reviews of Vellore Restaurant at the Bath Spa Hotel

3.6
(gebaseerd op 25 beoordelingen)
Sydney Road, Bath, South West England, BA2 6NS
25 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door A S uit Bath
    18 januari 2020

    Slow at reception, no greeting when entered the room and service was slow, was asked twice about tea or coffee, had to request cutlery as only 3 out of the party of 4 were provided. Very poor gluten free cakes, I expected more than jam tarts and bourbon biscuits! Service charge added as standard to add insult to injury!

  • Door Monica R uit Salisbury
    18 november 2019

    It was a lovely experience! The staff was very nice and the food was superb!

  • Door Ian M uit Southampton
    27 oktober 2019

    Menu was very limited and having booked into the hotel for three nights I was disappointed to note that the menu is exactly the same for tonight. Only two main course choices at each of 3 price points. I chose the baked cod which together with its accompaniments was very bland. The cheese plate had an uninspired of bland cheeses with non-descript crackers. My wife however said the Mushroom Risotto was very nice as was her dessert, a blackcurrant parfait. The service was efficient but at no point in the meal were we asked if the food was to our liking.

  • Door Colin D uit Bath
    7 september 2019

    For a supposedly award-winning restaurant, we were a little surprised by the limited menu available. As everything on the menu was the same for the two nights we stayed, except for a different choice of cheesecake on the dessert menu, by the second night, we were both struggling to find something we wanted to eat, without having the same meal two nights running, and we’re not particularly fussy eaters. The service was not very good on the first night... Slow to take our order, no bread on our table, the food was barely lukewarm, there wasn’t really much to eat on our plates and the petits fours were missing from the tea that we ordered at the end of our meal, even though they were listed on the menu. The temperature of the restaurant was also quite cold. The food was tasty, just not very warm and not much of it, considering the prices they were charging. To be frank, we went back to our room hungry. On our second night, the service was faster and knowing what the portion sizes were like, we’d made sure to eat a hearty lunch and to stock up on some biscuits, just in case! However considering that the cost of vegetables is relatively cheap, you would think that more than two straggly pieces of broccoli could be used per serving and that the watercress salad promised with the steak would actually arrive on the plate. I’d also asked for no ”crispy capers” with my salmon, which was duly delivered with about 8 soggy ones all over it instead! The couple on the table next to us had to complain as they were billed £29 for a bottle of wine that was only £25 on the menu and the manager argued with them that it wasn't wrong and even went to prove it from the wine menu, only to find out that they were right. They had still been wrongly billed when they checked out the next day! We’d booked half board on the basis that this was our 30th wedding anniversary and we wanted something special, but in fact we’d have been better paying less for our stay and eating elsewhere.

  • Door Stuart E uit London
    4 september 2019

    Excellent Food. Poor Service!

  • Door Julie P uit Bristol
    12 juli 2019

    Lunch booked here whilst on a Spa day - supposed to be a lovely treat. Food very disappointing - lukewarm and incredibly bland(visually and on the taste buds). Beware seagulls swooping down and grabbing your food if you sit outside on the terrace !

  • Door Chris A uit Great Dunmow
    5 mei 2019

    Excellent choice on menu

  • Door Ang L uit London
    3 november 2018

    Very good dining experience, with friendly staff and great food! Would recommend

  • Door Catherine B uit Bath
    9 juni 2017

    A wonderful cream tea in beautiful surroundings with great service.

  • Door Peter R uit Barnsley
    8 juni 2016

    Excellent quality of food and service at dinner but extremely restricted choice. A la Carte menu had only one item more than Table d'Hote and that was a sharing platter. Could not recommend for that reason. High quality breakfast