Opiniones sobre Forth Floor Brasserie, Harvey Nichols Edinburgh

4.5
(basado en 668 opiniones)
34 St. Andrew Square, Edinburgh, Midlothian, EH2 2AD
668 opiniones
Ordenadas por: más recientes
  • Por Sheelagh N desde Edinburgh
    12 de marzo de 2020

    Third visit and previous were lovely, sadly this one highly disappointing. Food mediocre and service desultory

  • Por Ian T desde Edinburgh
    21 de febrero de 2020

    The meal was first class and good value.the service was excellent all the way through.

  • Por Martin N desde Edinburgh
    15 de febrero de 2020

    What a disappointment! The setting is of course fantastic with great views over Edinburgh and the castle as a fantastic backdrop. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated, with a light an airy feel although my partner said it felt more like an airport lounge than a restaurant. That's not necessarily a bad thing as it contributes to a relaxed atmosphere. The menu was broad, with a good selection for veggies / vegans and was very reasonably priced given the location. Unfortunatley that's where the good news ends. The food was just badly prepared and tasteless, with virtually no evidence of seasoning at all. I suspect our starter (arancini) was pre-cooked and reheated as it lacked that characteristic crispy outer. We were told when we ordered the steak medium-rare that the chef recommends that it comes as medium and our server was pretty insistent on this. The steak came and was again underseasoned and lacking in taste. If I was cynical I would guess that the reason the recommendation is that all steaks are served medium is that they are all sous-vide in advance and chucked on the grill before serving. The frozen chips that came with the steak included a number of green chips with eyes at the very top of the basket they were served in. There is no way that they should ever have left the kitchen looking like that. My butternut squash curry (consistently as bland as the other dishes) looked like a TV dinner with overcooked rice and presentation that screamed out 'we don't care'. We didn't stay for desert, nor did we have one of the included cocktails on the set menu although it would have been nice if our server had pointed this out to us. The service was okay, polite, but totally lacking any warmth and there was absolutely no refinement; we saw plates being carried close to chest and then being slid across tables to other customers. The only time we witnessed any interaction witht the staff was when they were chatting to their mates at other tables.

  • Por Maggie H desde Edinburgh
    11 de febrero de 2020

    Nice atmosphere - lovely views out panoramic windows and no background music so easy to chat with friends/family. Food good and well presented but portions of main dish quite small. Good value for money.

  • Por Marie M desde Edinburgh
    7 de febrero de 2020

    Great deal. Enjoyed our lunch and cocktails very much. As always the food was so good as was our window table fantastic view. Great service as always. Will be back soon.

  • Por Elaine M desde Glenrothes
    25 de enero de 2020

    Super food, enjoyable ambiance and great value for money xx

  • Por Derek R desde Glasgow
    21 de diciembre de 2019

    Overly priced, poor standard of food. Lack of service by staff

  • Por Elaine F desde Livingston
    13 de diciembre de 2019

    We were first in and was seated at the window. Lovely view of st andrews square and edinburgh castle with light show. The ambience in the restaurant was lovely and bit of a buzz but private. What can I say about the food, it was exquisite. The presentation was delightful and the tastes were superb. I had smoked salmon for starter and it was nothing like I have ever had before. It was art on a plate and the taste buds in my mouth were ecstatic. My mm ain was duck and same again, presentation and taste were fabulous. The duck was cooked to perfection. For dessert I opted for the red orange baked Alaska, which was sooooo tasty. All in all for a festive menu at £40 a head, it was well worth it. One other thing, you must try the mulled wine red cabbage, fantastic. The service was exceptional and all the staff were knowledgeable and polite. Thank you for a lovely evening and a wonderful meal. Merry Christmas

  • Por alison humphrey H desde Aberdeen
    11 de diciembre de 2019

    Very attentive staff, fantastic view and fabulous scrumptious food

  • Por Douglas M desde Edinburgh
    9 de diciembre de 2019

    Food was superb, table as requested