Anmeldelser The Glasshouse Hotel

4.0
(basert på 141 anmeldelser)
2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH1 3AA
141 anmeldelser
Sortert etter: siste anmeldelser
  • Av Dorothy S fra Edinburgh
    13. mars 2020

    Delicious afternoon tea

  • Av Katharina S fra Edinburgh
    16. november 2019

    Other than the view I would not recommend this restaurant. The bread was rubbery and who does a te without lemon curd? Atmosphere is not cosy or even comfy. It’s a conference hotel .

  • Av Alison M fra Edinburgh
    20. april 2019

    I booked an Afternoon Tea as part of my daughter's 21st birthday weekend celebrations. On arrival at reception we were directed to take the lift downstairs and walk to the bar where someone would be able to direct us to the Tea Room. We arrived at the bar and waited for attention. There were a number of bar staff there, some busy making drinks, others in discussion, but we were ignored. Having stood at the bar for a good 5 minutes I asked one of the bar staff if he could direct me to where the afternoon teas were being served. He didn't know where we should go so I asked another staff member who happened to be passing. She couldn't tell us where to go either and eventually a hotel guest advised us to go down the stairs and follow the corridor along. On arrival at the Tea Room the waitress gave the impression she wasn't expecting us (by this point we were slightly late due to the time taken to find the room so I would have expected someone to be looking out for us). However, our booking was found and we were finally seated. We were surprised to then be served by the waiter from the bar, who couldn't direct us to the room in the first place. The service was very slow - we were there for an hour before we were served our food despite Afternoon tea being a set menu. The Tea Room wasn't busy and we also had to ask for refills for tea. All in all, the whole experience was very disappointing and totally underwhelming. The 'journey' to the Tea Room was a challenge and this coupled with the behaviour of the staff made the whole experience somewhat strange. We wished we had booked elsewhere. We will not be returning to The Glasshouse for an Afternoon Tea and I would not recommend the experience to any of my family and friends. I've experienced far superior service in many other establishments and I have also chosen how much of a service charge to pay (10% was automatically added to my bill which understandably I very much grudged).

  • Av Mohini P fra Edinburgh
    13. april 2019

    Warm welcoming and friendly staff

  • Av Marie C fra Edinburgh
    4. august 2018

    Absolutely lovely afternoon tea and a sunny day meant we could sit out on the rooftop before and after our afternoon tea which was served in the brasserie. Staff couldn’t do enough from the front of house staff to the bar staff and restaurant waiting on staff lovely afternoon and I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Av Maxine S fra Edinburgh
    21. juli 2018

    Very lovely afternoon. We enjoyed a rooftop picnic. The food was amazing and the staff were very attentive to our needs.

  • Av John M fra Oak Park
    10. juli 2018

    We are staying in the hotel for a week, so are pleased there is a nice comfortable bar to relax in at end of day for drink and snack or dessert. Hubs enjoyed his mushroom risotto and I liked my venison burger. Love the salted caramel ice cream and the South African chenin blanc. Inga our server is very attentive and hard working. We saw her again at breakfast. Very nice.

  • Av Rae C fra Motherwell
    26. mai 2018

    Beautiful bar area to relax in, drinks pricey but work it for the relaxing atmosphere....meal in restaurant was gorgeous and staff literally couldn’t have been nicer or done any more for us.....we didn’t stay in the hotel but it looks top class.

  • Av Helen F fra Edinburgh
    8. april 2018

    Very dissapointed everything was overbaked and a bit dry. Tried 2 kinds of tea and they were both as weak as dishwater didnt think it was worth the money and it was a present so felt awful telling them i didnt enjoy it

  • Av Isla T fra Edinburgh
    3. mars 2018

    Was a lovely experience, ultra-posh, beautiful view, lovely staff and good food. Only problem was a surprise service charge which was not made clear to us before at all (something which I believe is actually illegal). Caused a bit of alarm as neither me or my friend have the most money and this was a special treat together as we live on other sides of the world.