Opiniones sobre Dining at Centurion Club

4.3
(basado en 60 opiniones)
Hemel Hempstead Rd Hemel Hempstead, St Albans, Hertfordshire, HP3 8LA
60 opiniones
Ordenadas por: más recientes
  • Por Al L desde Bedford
    8 de febrero de 2020

    Birthday Dinner. Dishes were very well presented and the restaurant's ambience was lovely. We had pre-dinner drinks - the wines were very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Unforturnately it was dark when we arrived so, did not see any 'views'

  • Por Helen M desde KINGS LANGLEY
    1 de febrero de 2020

    Fab meal in beautiful surroundings. Attentive service.

  • Por Karimi K desde London
    21 de diciembre de 2019

    Amazing good and service

  • Por Carmel O desde Hertfordshire
    25 de septiembre de 2019

    Would highly recommend

  • Por Howard F desde Welwyn
    24 de septiembre de 2019

    I was celebrating retirement and had invited two other couples to join us for lunch. Reception on arrival was attentive. Especially so, as my wife uses a wheelchair. The setting with fresh flowers was attractive. Table service was prompt, cheerful and efficient. We all chose from the Set Menu. The presentation and standard of the food was excellent. Our friends, who had never been before, were most enthusiastic and cannot wait to return.

  • Por Michael E desde St. Albans
    3 de mayo de 2019

    20 minutes after we were sat in the cocktail lounge someone finally took our drinks order. The waitress was lovely, but wasn't trained bar staff and nobody seemed to know how to make a martini, with confusion behind the bar between vermouth, a martini and the brand Martini. There were also no olives, which is a first world problem, but not really what you're expecting in a supposedly high end restaurant. This was all due apparently to the barman being off, which is understandable, but again you wouldn't expect somewhere claiming to be a fine dining experience to not have cover and if that is the case then don't treat your customers like idiots and think you can cover by getting inexperienced staff to make the cocktails from a book. The Dark and Stormy one of our party had looked like urine; the clue really is in the name. Food was mixed: the halibut was excellent, but the fillet was bleu (cold to the touch) rather than rare and a fairly poor cut. One of the desserts was ok, but the lemon and pistachio cake tasted of neither and the Tarte Tatin a complete mess, which is a pity because at a previous visit to the Galvin on Baker Street it was magic on a plate. The manager wasn't around to discuss this with, apparently due to an emergency, but again, how does a credible restaurant not have cover. The lady who took our coats had long since left when we came to leave, so we had to dig around for them ourselves. On the plus side the half of Peroni I had instead of the dry martini was ok.

  • Por Kelly B desde Hemel Hempstead
    17 de abril de 2019

    The service is impeccable from all members of staff, the food is excellent!

  • Por Catherine H desde St.Albans
    6 de marzo de 2019

    My friend so enjoyed the relaxed but excellent venue for our lunch. Food was good and the service attentive when required.

  • Por Gillian N desde Sheney
    27 de febrero de 2019

    Exemplary service and good food at a reasonable price. Beautiful setting and superb presentation

  • Por Richard C desde St Albans
    5 de enero de 2019

    A major disappointment. This was my third visit to this restaurant. The previous two times were fine and encouraged us to go again. This Saturday evening visit by four of us was very bad. The approach was arrogant, food and drink were overpriced and service was desultory and in one case downright rude. This was when I complained about the long wait between courses and was informed by an unsmiling waitress that it was what I should expect, since the restaurant had a policy of leaving 20 minutes between each course. It would have helped to have been informed of this in advance. All our dishes were disappointing and even by nouvelle cuisine standards were very small. The pheasant was dry, sea bass average only. Beetroot risotto, offered as both starter or main, would have been fine as a starter but did not belong on the mains. The dessert souffle, supposed to be fruit-based, was drowned by having heavy and dark chocolate sauce poured into it. Carrot cake, which arrived in two large and heavy lumps, was also dry. We found it not surprising the restaurant, on a Saturday night and previously a popular venue, was only half-full.