Guide MICHELIN 2020

Anmeldelser Old Downton Lodge

4.9
(basert på 16 anmeldelser)
Downton on the Rock, Ludlow, Shropshire, SY8 2HU
16 anmeldelser
Sortert etter: siste anmeldelser
  • Av Sarah R fra Shrewsbury
    11. februar 2020

    My husband and I had a truly wonderful dinner. Delicious food, English sparkling wine, and perfect service. Lovely interiors too. We’ll definitely come back. Our only bone of contention was the finding of the restaurant, we were slightly giving up driving down the long windy road in the dark - it would have been helpful to have had the odd sign reassuring us that we were going in the right direction!

  • Av Anthony G fra Stoney Middleton
    2. januar 2020

    Great location & excellent food. We took the six course tasting menu. Full of interesting flavour combinations. Perhaps, too many sweet courses, but a great eating experience.

  • Av Lance P fra Stafford
    15. november 2019

    The tasting menu matched perfectly with the flight of wine to produce a sensational meal.It is almost impossible to pick out a favourite dish however the opening Oyster, Kohlrabi, Cracker was seriously challenged but never beaten.

  • Av Michelle B fra Powys
    14. november 2019

    Our visit to the restaurant was to celebrate my partners birthday. We were delighted with the taste and presentation of the food which was complemented by the excellent service we received throughout the afternoon. The restaurant/hotel is situated in a truly beautiful location. We were so impressed we booked again before we left. A big thank you also for the exquisite little birthday cake you kindly prepared for our birthday celebration.

  • Av Debbie V fra Shropshire
    22. oktober 2019

    Thank you Nick, for an excellent meal and good luck with the future. Please try Hillside Gin, to my palate it is special.

  • Av Jayne hall H fra Ludlow
    12. oktober 2019

    Absolutely delicious supper my duck dish was amazing and the service was 5 star we will recommend and will be booking again

  • Av K S fra London
    13. september 2019

    A beautiful setting for a special dinner. Service is excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Av Neil W fra Ludlow
    11. september 2019

    Stunningly good food served by engaging staff contributed to a memorable dining experience.

  • Av Gordon C fra Worcester
    7. september 2019

    Beautifully situated in former agricultural buildings

  • Av Laurence W fra Montgomery
    31. august 2019

    Excellent experience in every way. The host and waiter were both friendly and attentive. We had pre-lunch drinks and chose our meals from a limited a la cartel menu, consisting of 3 items for starter and 3 main courses. Limited is good in the sense that the meal was clearly prepared for us by a skilled chef and not mass produced. My wife and I chose the chicken and pork starters, both of which were superbly cooked and delicious. She then had the sea trout as main, and I chose the duck, again fabulous! Definitely Michelin star quality, not large portions, but easily sufficient for lunch. Waiter was prompt and helpful throughout, with no delays in clearing plates and bringing fresh courses. My wife finished off with the rhubarb sweet, and I had the Welsh honey, followed by complimentary chocolates and coffee. All for £40 pp, a real bargain in lovely historic surroundings.

2 Neste side