Guide MICHELIN 2019

Reviews of Old Downton Lodge

4.9
(gebaseerd op 34 beoordelingen)
Downton on the Rock, Ludlow, West Midlands, SY8 2HU
34 beoordelingen
Gerangschikt op: Meest recent
  • Door Kevin H uit Watford
    21 september 2020

    Lovely atmosphere. Starter of Pork Terrine was our favourite dish. Fabulous cheese board!

  • Door Sue R uit Ludlow
    19 september 2020

    Perfect food in an elegant rustic setting with professional yet friendly service. Portions are fairly dainty but we felt perfectly satisfied and the flavours are delicious. Menu is simply worded - no flourishes about 'morning gathered', 'lovingly poached to perfection' and so on. Our favourite restaurant in the neighbourhood for special nights out. Pricing is simple too, a £50 three course a la carte menu and a tasting menu for £65. Pretty garden for pre-dinner drinks, weather permitting.

  • Door Pete L uit Worcestershire
    8 september 2020

    What you would expect for the price.

  • Door Jeffrey R uit Ludlow
    5 september 2020

    Downton Lodge is still very much the best restaurant around Ludlow. Even Covid limitations have not spoilt the experience Our six course tasting menu was thoughtfully considered and well executed. Flavours abound, a simple beetroot set off followed by a lovely clean tasting salmon with orange and celery tender lamb and fine cheese complimented nicely. A restaurant we are eager to return to to it’s not just fine food a well schooled team looked after us so well. The owner should be proud of them

  • Door Simon R uit Much wenlock
    28 augustus 2020

    The dinner was delicious and the wines went well together. My only thought was that the sommelier’s introduction was muffled by his mask which is unavoidable and we ask felt we were politely nodding on while struggling to hear. Perhaps until the mask business goes away you should give written notes. Simon

  • Door Kim M uit Ludlow
    23 augustus 2020

    Great experience and well planned and prepared for during challenging times in covid superb food, wine list and very suitable for celebrating any special occasion

  • Door Gordoon C uit Worcester
    19 augustus 2020

    Due too Corvid we had a table in the lounge,my wife would have prefered the Dining Room. That said the tasting menu was up too its usual high standard,with friendly and efficient waiter& waitreses.I thought the drinks were reasonably priced for a 5 star establishment.

  • Door Ashley B uit ludlow
    7 augustus 2020

    Beautiful setting we chose to sit in the garden on one of the hottest days in August. The afternoon tea was delicious and the service was perfect a truly wonderful way to celebrate a friends birthday. We drank English sparking wine, a selection of finger sandwiches, the lightest scones with homemade jam and cream. A selection of cakes and a wide choice of teas. I shall most definitely shall be returning and have been recommending to friends.

  • Door Philip R uit Ludlow
    6 augustus 2020

    Afternoon tea was excellent, just what an afternoon tea should be. Sandwich fillings were spot on, no fussiness. Scones were great and the cake selection varied and tasty. The service was impeccable, courteous and only to willing to make sure your time was a bespoke experience. Location was perfect, tranquil and peaceful. The garden with the individual areas was ideal.

  • Door Stephen T uit Cardiff
    2 augustus 2020

    Wonderful Sunday lunch (2 course) al fresco - in the courtyard. All 3 diners going for excellent sirloin of beef main course, plus one of each: salmon; octopus or chicken liver parfait equally excellent starters. No room for desserts, having filled up on delicious home-made bread rolls.