Anmeldelser af The George & Pilgrims

3.6
(baseret på 17 anmeldelser)
1 High Street, Glastonbury, South West England, BA6 9DP
17 anmeldelser
Sorteret efter: nyeste
  • Af camillia barton B fra ST. ALBANS
    31. oktober 2020

    Unfortunately, I cant say that I had a nice experience. I had visited the previous day for a coffee around lunch time and was seated in a Covid safe manner. Staff friendly and no waiting times. I had specifically come to Glastonbury to dine here for Halloween but was left disappointed. We had booked a table for 7:45pm, the table that we were given was in the middle of a doorway of which the staff were constantly walking past ( and very close too). We waited 10 minutes before anyone asked for drinks. On looking at the menu there was nothing suited for vegetarians so I asked if this was the only menu available and the waitress said yes ( didn't ask why). I then said oh sorry I cant eat here then as my partner is pescatarian and myself vegetarian and Dairy intolerant. The waitress didn't seem bothered and just said ' oh ok'. I understand restaurants don't have to cater for everyone but when you have a bar menu which does I would assume rather than losing custom they would be available on request or something. I feel a wasted journey to what was supposed to be a nice romantic spooky Haloween dinner I felt we were shoved in the door way with a tiny table in what i can only describe as a school hall style dining room. The next day we returned to have coffee and give another chance at some lunch, again sat in the school dining room the staff member. Proceeded to bang and bash the equipment around (the coffee machine) just as we sat down ( its right next to your ear so was a bit of a shock. Personally i would wait until customers are not near). We just got up and left at this point. I will not be returning myself or recommending people visit Glastonbury to see the not so spooky or cosy pub. Customer service from staff and waiting times can be improved. The seating we were given was not Covid friendly at all.

  • Af Adrian J fra Glastonbury, England
    31. oktober 2020

    Great food and friendly service and the mulled cider was delicious. Just what the doctor ordered on a chilly Samhain evening.

  • Af Quanita C fra Yatton
    29. oktober 2020

    Excellent food really tasty lovely setting

  • Af Lynzi B fra Staffordshire
    25. oktober 2020

    We booked on their booking system for 7pm, then they called us the next day and said they stop serving food at 7pm. We rearranged for 6.30pm. We arrived at 6-15 and felt a little lost at the entrance as staff were flying around but no one spoke to us. We were taken to our table and had to wait until 6.30 for someone to come and take a drinks order. The food arrived very quickly, it’s wasn’t hot just warm and there wasn’t enough of it, the whole dish was centered on top of each other and two potatoes and one carrot were insufficient. The table across from us were already complaining so we didn’t bother, we were still hungry but left and went to get coffee and cake from the Coop. A group of ‘locals’ came and sat opposite us and did not observe social distancing or masks and were loud and swore a lot and there was a child on the next table. Overall it’s a pub you would want to visit due to its historical importance but whether or not it’s due to COVID it didn’t deliver either on the food front or the hospitality front.

  • Af Victoria S fra Ely
    24. oktober 2020

    We were really touched by the fact that a birthday banner had been put up behind our table as I’d mentioned it was for a birthday. Service was good until the end when they seemed to be a bit short staffed. Wasn’t really expecting anything with the food but the pies were tasty and the burgers cooked nicely. Shame we weren’t given fries with the burgers as stated in the menu as don’t care for oven chips. But ambiance great and staff very friendly.

  • Af Christine A fra Stoke on trent
    18. oktober 2020

    Old but wonderful the ambiance and atmosphere take you back in time lovely place to sit and relax the food was presented well and reasonably priced good choice of wine and beer only complaint would be the gravy was a bit thin other wise lovely

  • Af Katie G fra Glastonbury
    2. oktober 2020

    Been here a few times and always enjoy it. The pie of the day and the pilgrim burger are both especially nice! It's in a lovely old hotel and has some period features. It's always very popular around meal times so booking recommended!

  • Af carole D fra Teignmouth
    21. september 2020

    Four of us enjoyed a hearty lunch.

  • Af Amanda T fra trowbridge
    20. september 2020

    Had Sunday lunch that was very expensive for bad quality - chewy meat, undercooked roast potatoes, the only good thing was the Yorkshire pudding.

  • Af Geoff J fra Bristol
    6. september 2020

    This restaurant more than lived up to my expectations. The Sunday roast was excellent and good value for money too. I had cherished happy memories of a previous visit here way back in the 1970’s .. the place still has that extra something and the staff are brilliant.

2 Næste side